select your language:

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

About Cyprus Geography

Cyprus is the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea and has a key located as being at the crossroads of Europe, Asia and Africa. Its neighbouring countries include Greece, Lebanon, Turkey, Syria, Egypt and Israel.

Cyprus became a member of the European Union (E.U.) in May 2004 and adopted the Euro currency as of January 2008.

Its capital Nicosia (‘Lefkosia’ in Greek) is the only divided capital in Europe. Other major cities include Limassol (‘Lemesos’), Larnaca, Paphos, Famagusta (‘Ammochostos’) and Kyrenia (located in the northern occupied region). With a total area of 9251km² (of which 3355km² is in the occupied north area) and an estimated population of just under 800,000 people, the island has a perfect combination of both urban and rural areas.

Surrounded by beautiful beaches and clear shallow seas, Cyprus has a number of ports and marinas in all the coastal towns. There are also lovely cool green areas in the Troodos region, with the highest peak being Mount Olympus at 6,406ft. This region transforms into the perfect skiing resort in the winter months and is a real life winter wonderland.

Cyprus has 2 International airports in Larnaca and Paphos that are currently accepting flights (to and from Cyprus) from over 40 airlines world wide. This number will increase when the new Larnaca airport is complete.

© 2018 DEACO developments. All rights reserved